“Fill in the Blank” with Widian Nicola, DSW

When she was eight years old, Widian Nicola moved to the United States from Israel with her Palestinian-Catholic family. She has an incredible, inspiring story of facing the challenges of life as an immigrant in this country with faith, hope, and love. She’ll share parts of her story with us at our annual Life & Justice gathering, which is set for Saturday, October 22 at St. Charles Borromeo in Sicklerville. The theme for the day is From Stranger to Friend: Called to Welcome. Learn more and register at camdendiocese.org/mercyministry

In anticipation of her visit, she played a fun round of “Fill in the Blank.”

Name: Widian Nicola

Hometown: Mi’ilya, Palestine and Vancouver, WA (Currently Titusville, NJ)

One thing I love to do is: listen to podcasts!

One person who inspires me is: my spiritual director, Sharon Browning, who has undoubtedly helped me to grow in my faith more than anyone.

My favorite place is: my home. I have several plants on every window ledge and lots of space to rest and relax.

Job: Assistant Professor of Social Work and Licensed Clinical Social Worker

I’m a social worker because: I’m inspired to connect with and love those who are most vulnerable; there seems to be no clearer path to the Divine.

One cool fact about me is: When I arrived to the USA at eight years old, I knew only the numbers 1-10 and “yes” and “no.”

If I had a meeting with Pope Francis, I’d tell him: Thank you for your faith and for representing our community with such great love.

Catholic parishes could more effectively be agents of welcome for migrants and refugees by: creating opportunities for intentional dialogue to foster connection. Why not host a multi-cultural event or potluck? Or perhaps an “adopt-a-family” program? Invite newcomers to holiday gatherings at your home and ask if they wouldn’t mind sharing a dish from their native country, offer tutoring to help your new neighbors learn English, or create a community pamphlet that lists all the stores where a family might get all their household supplies. In all things, to welcome means to be intentional and extend oneself for the sake of the other.

Register for From Stranger to Friend: Called to Welcome at camdendiocese.org/mercyministry.
Leave a Reply

